When Life Actually Gives You What You Want

7 May

They say that when life hands you lemons, make lemonade. Well, what if life hands you something like…ice cream? What are you supposed to do then?

Usually when I wish for things in my life, they are simply statements that it would be nice if they existed as part of my life, but if they aren’t there, its not a big deal. For the last two weeks, I’ve definitely been getting plenty of lemons. One right after another.

So, to counteract all the lemons, I made a couple of wishes myself. I wish strangers would just randomly have conversations with me and I wish I could fall in love and marry someone I went to high school with.

The first one was because I was jealous of someone’s story about talking to strangers. The second one was because I was thinking about how weird it is when two people never dated in high school, and then get married later on in life.

Well, about 2 days after I said the first wish to a friend, it happened. I blogged about it in my “Close Encounters” blog. I’m still so confused about what happened. The same friend who I wished to said I should be more specific when I wish things.

Then, I said the second wish to a different friend. And a couple days later, a kid I went to school with suddenly talked to be out of the blue. I hadn’t talked to him in probably the 4 years since we had high school together, and he just decided it was time to confess a long-term crush he’s had on me. At this point, I can’t say whether or not anything will come of it or if I actually believe him, but its a little strange that things have happened like they have.

I keep thinking about what my friend said. Maybe I should be more specific. Maybe I should wish for Shia LaBeouf to fall in love with me after coming to Colorado and tubing down the Poudre. Wouldn’t that be nice?

It seems like a huge coincidence that two unrelated events coincidentally happened after I spoke of my desire to have them occur.

Do things ever happen to you like this? What do you do when life is actually handing you what you’re asking for?

Leave a Comment

