Why I’m Not A Feminist

30 Apr

 

First, let me make a distinction. Just because I don’t call myself a feminist, does not mean I am anti-feminist. I’m not. I just don’t associate strongly with what I believe strong feminist views to be.

The main reason that I don’t consider myself a feminist, is because I know that men and women are different and I’m okay with that. We are physiologically and biologically different. We are hard-wired differently, so it doesn’t make sense to me to be expected to be exactly the same.

Also, in order to be a feminist, I think that you should be an activist for women’s rights, and play an active role to raise awareness. I don’t do this. I’m not saying, by any means, that people shouldn’t do this; it just isn’t what I feel passionate about. I also, for one, have no desire to be drafted into the military – none whatsoever. That is a necessary part of gender equality and it is one that I want no part of.

What seems to be a major part of non-active feminists (ones that associate as feminists but don’t really do anything to further the cause) views is trying to abolish double-standards. Yes, I agree that some double standards shouldn’t be in place. For example, women have the capacity to perform at the same intellectual level as men. My problem with double standards is when women lower their standards and morals to get rid of the double standards. No, women should not be judged for sleeping around differently than men should, but I think that men should raise their standards and not sleep around, rather than women lowering their standards and sleeping around.

My final point uses my personal ability of performance as an example. I’m completely independent of needing men. I don’t need a guy to fix my computer, my vacuum, my car, open a jar, or anything else a man might be “handy” for.  Maybe that is why I don’t feel the need to be less “oppressed” by men…because I don’t feel oppressed to begin with. Some of the people I know to act like feminists most are some of the same women who ask men to open bottles and carry things, and that doesn’t make sense to me either.  That being said, I still enjoy when a man opens the door for me, and does similar thing…but I think that has more to do with the hopeless romantic within me than anything else.

And besides, does any activist group want someone to be part of it if they may be considered a hypocrite? I think if I kept my views, I would be a hypocrite if I called myself a feminist.

So, what do you think? Do you call yourself a feminist? 

One Response to “Why I’m Not A Feminist”

  1. livinginfairyland April 30, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    I would call myself a feminist,but it doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the protection of a man or wear nice dresses or that I have to learn about the insides of cars! Actually it doesn’t mean anything except that I think I’m equal. Mind you being a feminist means a lot more in Afghanistan or Pakistan where women really have it tough – I think we should stick up for those women if we can.

Leave a Comment

