How Easily Do You Lose Respect?

22 Apr

Respect is kind of like trust. You have to earn it, and to keep it, you have to do respect-worthy things.

A friend of mine, Audrey*, recently told me she lost respect for a guy I know, Damian, because he punched (or was about to punch – I wasn’t there, and I don’t remember the details she relayed to me) a guy who was friends with his current girlfriend, Olivia. I can imagine it was because either this friend was being disrespectful of Olivia, or because Damian felt threatened (I’m pretty sure its the latter).  I can say that Damian is usually a stand up guy, and very nice, but I also know that Damian intended to kick some butt. I’m not sure how I feel about the situation. It doesn’t directly involve me, so my feelings are mixed and I’m pretty indifferent about the whole thing.

How do you feel about physical fighting? Would you lose respect for someone in Damian’s position? What are some things that you consider bottom line, respect-losing actions?

 

*All names have been changed.

Leave a Comment

