Who Would You Come Out To?

18 Apr

Coming out as gay or lesbian or transgender or whatever you associate yourself as can be a really big huge deal. Whether it is parents, a close friend, or someone else, I’m sure that the decision of who to come out to first weighs heavily on the person declaring their sexuality. I’ve long told my friends that they can tell me anything and I will be there to support them.  Its not that I question their sexuality – that’s not my place – but if they begin to, I want to help them through anything they are struggling with.

I was thinking about it recently, and I’m not entirely sure who I would come out to first. Likely, I would just say screw everyone because its none of their business and continue on with my life as though I don’t even have a sexuality. I never discussed dating with my parents until 2 weeks after I started dating my first boyfriend. The only reason it got brought up was become one of them asked me if we were dating – to which I replied yes, for about 2 weeks. That’s just my personality, and I know that everyone is different. I remember defending my bisexual (now lesbian) friend in middle school to my parents, through angry tears.

But assuming that I did find a need to tell someone, who would I tell? Would I confided in my parents? My best friend? The internet? Maybe scream it from the rooftops?

Who would you come out to if you were to declare your sexuality? Who did you come out to if you’ve already been through this?

4 Responses to “Who Would You Come Out To?”

  1. Carolina Courtland April 18, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    A good rule of thumb: never tell the parents anything.

  2. Kira April 18, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    My wife knows because my TG issues came to the surface in the middle of a mental break down in which she was caught in the middle. It came as much of a surprise to me as to her. These issues had been buried for decades and are what led to the breakdown, we are still in the process of working things out.

    • mishie1 April 18, 2012 at 12:43 am #

      I hope everything works out and you are happy with the outcome!

      • Kira April 18, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

        So far so good :)

Leave a Comment

