Do You Self-Diagnose?

18 Apr

 

With the vast number of resources out there and the wealth of information, its no surprise that people often self-diagnose their illnesses. Some of us may seriously think there is something wrong (hypochondriacs), while others may just off-handedly comment on their “illness”.

A few weeks ago I went through a period of time in which I had so much energy and my mind was racing and I just had so many thoughts that I needed to get out that it was impossible. I felt like I was invincible. This went on for about 4 days, and then I woke up the next morning and it was like someone had sucked the life right out of me. I felt dull, I was exhausted, and my level of functioning seemed to be at 0. I didn’t want to do a single thing.

I went to work, and was telling a coworker about it, and she commented that it was scary. I thought that was weird, but then she commented it sounded like I had a bipolar episode. Later that day, I randomly commented that I was bipolar.

Now I wasn’t necessarily serious, but we all do things like that. Think of how many times you say something about your “OCD”. Maybe two days ago I commented on my OCD – I check my zipper multiple times per day. I don’t honestly know if I have a disorder (I probably don’t), but so many people say they have these things when really, they don’t.

Especially with things like webMD’s symptom checker, I’m sure that more and more patients are going to their doctors telling them that they have some rare and unlikely illness.

Do you ever [seriously or otherwise] self-diagnose yourself? Do you catch yourself saying you have OCD or something similar? Have you ever dealt with hypochondria in you or a friend?

Leave a Comment

